CMCL 2011: Program

08:50-09:00 AM

Opening Remarks
Frank Keller, David Reitter

09:00-09:30 AM

TESTING THE ROBUSTNESS OF ONLINE WORD SEGMENTATION: EFFECTS OF LINGUISTIC DIVERSITY AND PHONETIC VARIATION

Luc Boruta1,  Sharon Peperkamp2,  Benoît Crabbé3,  Emmanuel Dupoux2

Univ. Paris Diderot, Sorbonne Paris Cité, ALPAGE, UMR-I 001 INRIA & LSCP-DEC, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, École Normale Supérieure & Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique1,
LSCP-DEC, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, École Normale Supérieure & Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique2,
Univ. Paris Diderot, Sorbonne Paris Cité, ALPAGE, UMR-I 001 INRIA3,

luc.boruta@inria.fr

 

09:30-10:00 AM

A BAYESIAN BELIEF UPDATING MODEL OF PHONETIC RECALIBRATION AND SELECTIVE ADAPTATION

Dave Kleinschmidt1 and T. Florian Jaeger2

Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, University of Rochester1,
Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences and Department of Computer Science, University of Rochester2,

dave.f.kleinschmidt@gmail.com

 

10:00-10:30 AM

UNSUPERVISED SYNTACTIC CHUNKING WITH ACOUSTIC CUES: COMPUTATIONAL MODELS FOR PROSODIC BOOTSTRAPPING

John Pate and Sharon Goldwater

Institute for Language, Cognition, and Computation, The School of Informatics, The University of Edinburgh

j.k.pate@sms.ed.ac.uk

 

10:30-11:00 AM

Morning Break

11:00-11:30 AM

A STATISTICAL TEST FOR GRAMMAR

Charles Yang

University of Pennsylvania

charles.yang@ling.upenn.edu

 

11:30-12:00 AM

TOP-DOWN RECOGNIZERS FOR MCFGS AND MGS

Edward Stabler

UCLA

stabler@ucla.edu

 

12:00-12:30 PM

EXPLORING THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN LEARNABILITY AND LINGUISTIC UNIVERSALS

Anna N. Rafferty1,  Thomas L. Griffiths1,  Marc Ettlinger2

UC Berkeley1,
Northwestern University2,

rafferty@eecs.berkeley.edu

 

12:30-2:00 PM

Lunch Break

2:00-2 PM

COMPOSING AND UPDATING VERB ARGUMENT EXPECTATIONS: A DISTRIBUTIONAL SEMANTIC MODEL

Alessandro Lenci

University of Pisa

alessandro.lenci@ling.unipi.it

 

2:30-3 PM

WM LOAD INFLUENCES THE INTERPRETATION OF REFERRING EXPRESSIONS

Jacolien van Rij,  Hedderik van Rijn,  Petra Hendriks

University of Groningen

J.C.van.Rij@rug.nl

 

3:00-3:30 PM

CHAMELEONS IN IMAGINED CONVERSATIONS: A NEW APPROACH TO UNDERSTANDING COORDINATION OF LINGUISTIC STYLE IN DIALOGS

Cristian Danescu-Niculescu-Mizil and Lillian Lee

Cornell University

cristian@cs.cornell.edu

 

3:30-4 PM

Afternoon Break

4:00-4:30 PM

CLASSIFICATION OF ATYPICAL LANGUAGE IN AUTISM

Emily T. Prud'hommeaux,  Brian Roark,  Lois M. Black,  Jan van Santen

Oregon Health and Science University

emily@cslu.ogi.edu

 

4:30-5 PM

COLOURFUL LANGUAGE: MEASURING WORD-COLOUR ASSOCIATIONS

Saif Mohammad

National Research Council Canada

uvgotsaif@gmail.com

 

5:00-5:30 PM

A SURVIVAL ANALYSIS OF FIXATION TIMES IN READING

Mattias Nilsson and Joakim Nivre

Uppsala University

mattias.nilsson@lingfil.uu.se