Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics (CMCL-2012)

A workshop to be held June 7, 2012

at the North American Association for Computational Linguistics meeting (NAACL-HLT)
in Montreal, Quebec


The workshop is sponsored by the Association for Computational Linguistics and the Cognitive Science Society.


Workshop Description

This workshop provides a venue for work in computational psycholinguistics. ACL Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Martin Kay described this topic as "build[ing] models of language that reflect in some interesting way on the ways in which people use language." The 2012 workshop follows in the tradition of several previous meetings

  1.  the computational psycholinguistics meeting at CogSci in Berkeley in 1997
  2.  the Incremental Parsing workshop at ACL 2004
  3.  the first two CMCL workshops at ACL 2010 and ACL 2011

in inviting contributions that apply methods from computational linguistics to problems in the cognitive modeling of any and all natural language abilities.

Scope and Topics

The workshop invites a broad spectrum of work in the cognitive science of language, at all levels of analysis from sounds to discourse. Topics include, but are not limited to

  1. incremental parsers for diverse grammar formalisms
  2. derivations of comprehension difficulty predictions, or predictions regarding generalization in language learning
  3. stochastic models of factors encouraging one production or interpretation over its competitors
  4. models of semantic interpretation, including psychologically realistic notions of word meaning, phrase meaning, and composition
  5. models and empirical analysis of the relationship between mechanistic psycholinguistic principles and pragmatic or semantic adaptation, usually in dialogue
  6. models of human language acquisition
  7. models of linguistic information propagation and language evolution in communication networks


This call solicits full papers reporting original and unpublished research that combines cognitive modeling and computational linguistics. Accepted papers are expected to be presented at the workshop and will be published in the workshop proceedings. They should emphasize obtained results rather than intended work, and should indicate clearly the state of completion of the reported results. A paper accepted for presentation at the workshop must not be presented or have been presented at any other meeting with publicly available proceedings. If essentially identical papers are submitted to other conferences or workshops as well, this fact must be indicated at submission time. No submission should be longer than necessary, up to a maximum 8 pages plus two additional pages containing references.

To facilitate double-blind reviewing, submitted manuscripts should not include any identifying information about the authors.

Submissions must be formatted using NAACL 2012 style files available at


Contributions should be submitted in PDF via the submission site:


The submission deadline is 11:59PM Eastern Time on March 30, 2012.

Best Student Paper

The best paper whose first author is a student will receive the Best Student Paper award, sponsored by the Cognitive Science Society. The award includes a one-year membership to the society and a cash prize.


All accepted CMCL papers will be published in the workshop proceedings as is customary at ACL conferences.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: 30 March 2012 (Extended deadline!)

Notification of acceptance: 28 April 2012

Camera-ready versions due: 08 May 2012

Workshop: 7 June 2012

Workshop Chairs

Roger Levy,  Department of Linguistics,  University of California at San Diego

David Reitter,  Department of Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University

Program Committee

Klinton BicknellUC San Diego
Matthew CrockerSaarbrücken University
Robert DalandUC Los Angeles
Vera DembergSaarbrücken University
Brian DillonUniversity of Massachussetts
Amit Dubey University of Edinburgh
Naomi FeldmanUniversity of Maryland
Michael C. FrankStanford University
Noah GoodmanStanford University
Peter beim GrabenHumboldt University Berlin
John T. HaleCornell University
Keith HallGoogle
Jeffrey HeinzUniversity of Delaware
T. Florian JaegerUniversity of Rochester
Gaja JaroszYale University
Frank KellerUniversity of Edinburgh
Lars KoniecznyUniversity of Freiburg
Richard L. LewisUniversity of Michigan
Brian Edmond MurphyUniversity of Trento
Lisa PearlUC Irvine
Ulrike PadóVICO Research & Consulting
Sebastian PadóUniversity of Heidelberg
Amy PerforsAdelaide University
Brian RoarkOregon Health & Science University
William SchulerThe Ohio State University
Nathaniel SmithUC San Diego
Mark SteedmanUniversity of Edinburgh
Patrick SturtUniversity of Edinburgh
Shravan VasishthUniversity of Potsdam
Guodong ZhouSoochow University